Can anyone install my company's Preciate Connector with Microsoft Teams?

Preciate Connectors are protected by a company's privacy settings, preventing company recognitions from being seen outside the company.

In short, yes, anyone can install a company's Preciate Connector, but your company recognition content is protected by privacy settings. For someone to install a Preciate Connector, he/she must first be signed in to Preciate. Because of this, we can always know who installs a Preciate Connector. Using that information, we will only feed recognition content to connectors that are permitted to view them.  

View the scenarios below to understand how a Preciate Connector will respond.

Company privacy settings are Private by default! 

TIP: Control your company's privacy settings from the Admin Portal.

Scenario 1: My employee installs a Preciate Connector, and my company privacy settings are Private.

Since your employee belongs to your company, this Connector will show all the recognitions that happen within your company. The Private setting only applies to people outside your company and still lets everyone inside your company see your company activity.

Scenario 2: Someone outside my company installs a Preciate Connector, and my company privacy settings are Private.

Since this person doesn't belong to your company, we would never send your recognition content to this connector. 

Scenario 3: Someone outside my company installs a Preciate Connector, and my company privacy settings are Public.

In this case, the connector will display your company's recognition activity. Why would this scenario happen? Many companies collaborate with vendors, consultants, and other entities outside their company. This scenario exists for those companies that wish to share and see the recognition activity of their close partners.